District Profile

At independence, Nebbi District located in the North-Western part of Uganda, was part of the then West Nile District until 1974 when it was divided into North Nile, Central Nile and South Nile Districts. South Nile became Nebbi in 1980. Nebbi is currently bordered to the North by Arua District, Zombo to the west, Pakwach to the East and South – East and Democratic Republic of Congo (DRC) to the West. In 2010, 2017 counties of Okoro and Jonam County were split off Nebbi to form Zombo and Pakwach District respectively, leaving Nebbi with one County of Padyere.

Nebbi District is currently divided into 10 Lower Local Governments i.e. Eight (8) rural Sub-Counties i.e. (Akworo, Nyaravur, Kucwiny, Ndhew, Atego, Nebbi, Erussi, Parombo), one (1) Town Council i.e. (Parombo Town Council)  and a Municipal Council i.e. (Nebbi Municipal).

The District has 42 parishes, 429 villages. Nebbi Municipality has got three (3) Divisions, nine (9) Wards, 46 cells.

The District Headquarters is located in Nebbi Municipal along Nebbi – Paidha road. There is a small airstrip (currently not in function) in Koch parish, Nebbi Sub County near Nebbi Municipal, which can be reached using commercial flights from Entebbe airport.

The west escapement of the rift valley overlooks both the district and the Municipal headquarters in Nebbi Town.

Nebbi District has a population of 291,734 (Male: 48%; Female: 52%), 151,702 female, 140,032 male (Population projection). The main languages are Alur. Over 91.9% of the District population is engaged in subsistence farming. Much of what is produced is consumed at the household level and less than 40% is marketed. The main crops grown are cotton, coffee, simsim, sorghum, millet, sweet potatoes, beans, cassava, maize and vegetables. Argo-processing is done small scale.

The District currently has 91 Government aided primary schools with a total enrollment of 66,289. Privately Owned Primary Schools are 15. There are 15 Secondary Schools, one (1) unit for Special Needs Education Centres and 78 Early Child Development centres. The District also has two (2) Business Technical Vocational Education Training Institutions (BTVET) (i.e. Comboni Technical – Angal and St. Timothy Vocational School in Nebbi Municipal).

Nebbi District has got 24 health facilities both public and private non for profit. There are two Hospitals, one (1) Health Centre HIV, nine (9) Health Centre III and 12 Health Centre II.

The dominant religious denominations are the Catholic and Anglican churches. However, several smaller groups also exist. About 80% of the population belongs to the Roman Catholic Church while the Anglican society accounts for about 15% and the rest of the population is in other beliefs.